Receiving and Concealing

The crime receiving and concealing stolen property can be charged as either a felony or as a misdemeanor offense under Michigan law. The charge is often defensible as the State must show that the person charged knew or had reason to know that the property was stolen, embezzled, or converted. The State frequently relies upon circumstantial evidence to show knowledge. To read the entire section relating to receiving and concealing according to the Michigan Legislature, you can find it here or you can read a portion of it below.

Michigan Penal Code

Section 750.535 Buying, receiving, possessing, concealing, or aiding in concealment of stolen, embezzled, or converted property or motor vehicle; violation; penalty; rebuttable presumption; enhanced sentence based on prior convictions; prohibited defense.

(1) A person shall not buy, receive, possess, conceal, or aid in the concealment of stolen, embezzled, or converted money, goods, or property knowing, or having reason to know or reason to believe, that the money, goods, or property is stolen, embezzled, or converted.…

(4) If any of the following apply, a person who violates subsection (1) is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year or a fine of not more than $2,000.00 or 3 times the value of the property purchased, received, possessed, or concealed, whichever is greater, or both imprisonment and a fine:

(a) The property purchased, received, possessed, or concealed has a value of $200.00 or more but less than $1,000.00.

(b) The property purchased, received, possessed, or concealed has a value of less than $200.00, and the person has 1 or more prior convictions for committing or attempting to commit an offense under this section or a local ordinance substantially corresponding to this section.

(5) If the property purchased, received, possessed, or concealed has a value of less than $200.00, a person who violates subsection (1) is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more than $500.00 or 3 times the value of the property purchased, received, possessed, or concealed, whichever is greater, or both imprisonment and a fine.