Malicious Destruction of Personal Property – Misdemeanor

The severity of the charges directly related to malicious destruction of personal property range from misdemeanors to felonies and are all governed by Section 750.377a of the Michigan Penal Code. In the case of misdemeanors, convictions are punishable by up to a year in prison and fines less than $2,000.00. You may read the entire misdemeanor and felony charges relating to malicious destruction of personal property on the Michigan Legislature website here or the section relating only to misdemeanors below.

Michigan Penal Code

Section 750.377a Willful and malicious destruction of property; personalty.

(c) If any of the following apply, the person is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year or a fine of not more than $2,000.00 or 3 times the amount of the destruction or injury, whichever is greater, or both imprisonment and a fine:

(i) The amount of the destruction or injury is $200.00 or more but less than $1,000.00.

(ii) The person violates subdivision (d) and has 1 or more prior convictions for committing or attempting to commit an offense under this section or a local ordinance substantially corresponding to this section.

(d) If the amount of the destruction or injury is less than $200.00, the person is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more than $500.00 or 3 times the amount of the destruction or injury, whichever is greater, or both imprisonment and a fine.