Vulnerable Adult Abuse Attorney Gaylord MI

According to Michigan Law, a vulnerable adult is an individual age 18 or over who, because of age, developmental disability,mental illness, or physical disability requires supervision or personal care or lacks the personal and social skills required to live independently. If abuse is suspected, a caregiver may find themselves charged with 1st, 2nd, 3rd or 4th degree vulnerable adult abuse. Being charged and convicted of vulnerable adult abuse can be serious. With fines and penalties ranging from less than one year and less than $1,000 to up to 15 years in prison and up to $10,000 depending on the severity of the accused crime.

In Michigan the fines and penalties associated with vulnerable adult abuse are governed by the Michigan Penal Code Act 328 of 1931. See the entire Act below:

Michigan Penal Code

750.145n Vulnerable adult abuse; first degree; second degree; third degree; fourth degree; authority to prevent vulnerable adult from being harmed or harming others not prohibited; applicability of section to act carried out by patient advocate.

Sec. 145n.

(1) A caregiver is guilty of vulnerable adult abuse in the first degree if the caregiver intentionally causes serious physical harm or serious mental harm to a vulnerable adult. Vulnerable adult abuse in the first degree is a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 15 years or a fine of not more than $10,000.00, or both.

(2) A caregiver or other person with authority over the vulnerable adult is guilty of vulnerable adult abuse in the second degree if the reckless act or reckless failure to act of the caregiver or other person with authority over the vulnerable adult causes serious physical harm or serious mental harm to a vulnerable adult. Vulnerable adult abuse in the second degree is a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 4 years or a fine of not more than $5,000.00, or both.

(3) A caregiver is guilty of vulnerable adult abuse in the third degree if the caregiver intentionally causes physical harm to a vulnerable adult. Vulnerable adult abuse in the third degree is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 2 years or a fine of not more than $2,500.00, or both.

(4) A caregiver or other person with authority over the vulnerable adult is guilty of vulnerable adult abuse in the fourth degree if the reckless act or reckless failure to act of the caregiver or other person with authority over a vulnerable adult causes physical harm to a vulnerable adult. Vulnerable adult abuse in the fourth degree is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year or a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or both.

(5) This section does not prohibit a caregiver or other person with authority over a vulnerable adult from taking reasonable action to prevent a vulnerable adult from being harmed or from harming others.

(6) This section does not apply to an act or failure to act that is carried out as directed by a patient advocate under a patient advocate designation executed in accordance with sections 5506 to 5515 of the estates and protected individuals code, 1998 PA 386, MCL 700.5506 to 700.5515.

Vulnerable Adult Abuse Attorney Gaylord MI

Bailey-Quick Law offers assistance to those dealing with cases relating to vulnerable adult abuse. To find  out more or for a free consultation, contact Bailey-Quick Law today at 989.448.2188.